What’s On Your Shelf, Teri Polen?

Yes folks it’s time for ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ and today, we have writer of young adult fiction, Teri Polen. Teri is a lover of books as long as they are not romance or pink and is most happy with a glass of red wine, some dark chocolate and a good novel. Check out her blog ‘Books And Such’ here, Facebook here and her books here. Over to Joan …

Thanks to Dawn for hosting me today! I’ve always enjoyed seeing friends and other authors talking about their shelves – they can tell you a lot about a person.
The first thing you’ll learn about me is that organization isn’t a top priority of mine. Hubby has suggested several times maybe putting my books in alphabetical order – why would I want to alphabetize books when I could be reading them? That topic has never been revisited.


My dad actually built this bookshelf many years ago – it’s nothing fancy, but it fit perfectly in between the wall and the fireplace when we moved into this house eleven years ago. The top shelf is full of family pics. The first shelf with books also has a few knick knacks. The figurine of the cat reading was a Christmas gift from a friend – being a cat person, I loved it! The Willow Tree figurines were also gifts. The middle one is titled ‘Brothers’ (I have two sons) – it apparently offended my cat because he decapitated the one representing my oldest son. Haven’t gotten around to gluing it yet.

On the far right of the middle shelf, I’ve grouped my old Nancy Drew books (the closest I’ve come to organizing). One of them came from my great aunt’s house and was printed in 1943 – a real treasure for me! Below that you’ll see old Stephen King paperbacks I’ve kept and my dad’s 1969 paperback copy of The Godfather – a book I’ve read at least four times.


I can’t say that I have a favorite book, but you’ll probably find more titles from Stephen King and F. Paul Wilson than any other authors. Most of these are older books, because I buy more ebooks these days; however, every year there’s a book festival ten minutes from my house and I’ve been fortunate to meet some amazing authors and have them sign my books – Harlan Coben, Kendare Blake, C.J. Redwine, Maggie Stiefvater, and Victoria Schwab to name a few. This year I’m looking forward to meeting R.L. Stine and Mindy McGinnis.

Thanks for touring my bookshelves – they may be cluttered, but I’ve had countless, enjoyable hours of reading what’s on them!


What a wonderful bookshelf and a lovely story behind it. All those old Nancy Drew books too. Real treasures from your childhood. I never read Nancy Drew but I have a few books from my childhood, with tatty covers, about the house that hold a lotto nostalgia in their pages. Those willow figures are sweet, it’s a shame the cat took offence, although in my experience, it’s not difficult to offend a cat. 

I’m very envious of that book festival you mentioned and you have quite a collection of signed books there which makes them really special. Thanks for letting us have a look around your bookshelves Teri. 


Would you like to be a guest on ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ I’d love to hear from you so get in touch below or through my contact page on www.dsnelson.co.uk

25 thoughts on “What’s On Your Shelf, Teri Polen?

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    What a lovely set of shelves! It’s all the more special because it’s handmade by a family member. And I really like the warm shade; it’s inviting. Those ‘photos on top are a great touch, too. Thanks for sharing, both.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Staci Troilo says:

    My grandfather made a dresser for me and my sister, so I know how you must treasure that bookcase. (My sister got to keep the dresser… being the youngest burns me again!)

    Love the contents of the shelves. You can tell the books and knick-knacks are well loved.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. tpolen says:

    I’m the oldest, and my sister reads, but doesn’t have nearly the amount of books I do (I didn’t include the stacks on my desk and nightstand), so I lucked out with that. Thanks for stopping by, Staci!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mae Clair says:

    What a great looking bookshelf, Teri. And so special that your father built it for you. It fits that spot beside the fireplace perfectly.

    I”m also super jealous of the book festival. I wish we had something like that here. It must be amazing to meet so many authors. I would definitely look forward to that each year!

    Liked by 2 people

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

