What’s On Your Shelf, Victo Dolore?

It’s time for  ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ and today, ladies and gentlemen, we have the doctor in the house! Yes, I know what a coup, please give a very warm welcome to Victo Dolore from ‘Behind The White Coat’. Victo can be found blogging about the daily rollercoaster that  is working in the health service, interspersed with dark, witty and frankly therapeutic, fiction and poetry. If you haven’t already, you can check out Victo’s blog here and more wonderful fiction here. So, without further ado, let’s see what’s on the doc’s shelf!

‘I love books. I have spent my entire life surrounded by them. They taught, provided escape, and empowered me. Much of who I am is because of those words.

My house has hundreds of books spread out all over the place spanning hundreds of years and covering just about any genre. The oldest ones date from the 1600’s but my favorite is the Victorian period. People said and wrote crazy, crazy stuff back then.

I have snapped pictures of a few shelves of interest. At least the ones that were not too cluttered. This first one has my first antique book, ‘The Birds’ X-mas Carol’. It was given to me by mother when I had just learned to read and I have cried my eyes out over it more than once. It was the first book I ever read without a happy ending. This shelf also has my second antique book, ‘The House of Seven Gables’, given to me by my grandmother shortly before she died.’

victo-dolores-books-1

‘The next few hold books that have had profound influences on me. I won’t tell you which ones. Or some that hold sentimental value to me.’

victo-dolores-books-2

victo-dolores-books-3

victo-dolores-books-4

victo-dolores-books-5

‘This last one is the oldest book I own. Guess what it is?’

victo-dolores-books-6

‘Please forgive the quality of my iPhone photos. Who knew taking photos of books would be so hard? Thank you so much for letting me do this. It helped me remember how much I love these old friends. :-)’

Some really beautiful books here Victo. I love second hand and antique books, in fact when I was younger I worked in a book shop that had a second hand section on the top floor, it was my favourite place. These shelves hold a fantastic mix of philosophy, medicine, fiction and classics, I’d love to hang out and peruse these shelves. I can almost smell those wonderful ancient pages. Oh, and the little chap conquering the shelf in the fourth picture clearly an avid reader too!

The books from your mother and grandmother are so precious and I’m sure they hold wonderful memories. I’ve not read either of these and I’m off to check out that sad ending you talked about. I’ve always been an admirer of someone who can write a book with an atypical conclusion. 

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and show us your shelves Victo! Can you spot one of your favourites on Victo’s shelf?


Would you like to be a guest on ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ I’d love to hear from you so get in touch below or through my contact page on www.dsnelson.co.uk

35 thoughts on “What’s On Your Shelf, Victo Dolore?

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    Those shelves have such a warm, rich feeling! And it’s funny the mention of The Birds’ Christmas Carol. I read that one many years ago, but had completely forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Such a wonderful collection of books! I love that you have them all throughout your house, Victo. And the old tomes must be very precious indeed.

    I studied the last picture….the oldest book you own, but couldn’t really decipher anything. Before the day is over, you must share the story behind that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’m visiting via Victo’s blog. I’ve always been in awe of this busy woman and how she manages a medical practice, a family, and a very popular blog. Now she tosses in what is obviously a deep passion for reading. Yowzer! This woman is a spitfire 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. daveb42 says:

    The last picture is a Bible opened to Jeremiah 23 (vs 1 “Woe to the shepherds who destroy and scatter the flock of my pasture, saith the LORD”). Printed on paper with unusual page format. Many footnotes. Study Bible printed after 1600?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Let's CUT the Crap! says:

    Wonderful to get to know you better, Doc. Your collection is heartwarming. The Long Walk interests me because I believe I read it about 50 years ago–so not a new book. Have been tracking that one down off and on for ages.
    You have fabulous bookshelves. Thank you for allowing inside. ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. edgar62 says:

    Very good selection of books. The one on Teddy Roosevelt looks interesting, but then TR was a very interesting man. Interesting not many people know how the “Teddy” Bear got its name..

    Liked by 2 people

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

