What’s On Your Shelf, Mae Clair?

Welcome to  ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ and I am excited to have fellow writer and blogger, Mae Clair from ‘From The Pen Of Mae Clair’ here to show us her bookcase. Mae is a fan of cryptozoology myth and legend and prolific writer of suspense and mystery with a dash of romance. If you haven’t already, you can check out her blog here and her books here. They really are very good fun! Take it away Mae what’s on your shelf?

‘I love the idea of sharing the books that we read, so naturally I jumped at the chance to be on Dawn’s blog with my meager collection. I say meager, because I trimmed it down considerably over the last two years donating boxes and boxes of books to a local nursing home and also our local library. I did, however, hang onto my favorites which tend to be collections of authors and subjects I like.

Below is a snap of a few shelves on the larger of my two bookcases. It’s easy to see I like Preston and Child, P.J. Parrish, Tana French, Kevin O’Brien, and most anything on Robert F. Kennedy. Of course, there is the odd Battlestar Galactica and Stargate mixed in there too. ☺’

mae-clair-bookshelf1

‘I’ve also got a section with some really old books that I can’t bear to part with. They’re down below with my Spanish books (I’m trying to teach myself through books, the Rosetta Stone and various apps). Those old original copies include The Lymond Chronicles, The Golden Unicorn, Urshurak, Summer of Night, The Chronicles of Amber, Something Wicked This Way Comes, The Beast Master and others. To the left, I have my Harry Potter and Custer collections. Yes—that Custer. Other than RFK, he’s probably the person I’ve read the most non-fiction about.’

mae-clair-bookshelf2

‘Dawn asked me to comment about the knickknacks on my shelf, and they amount to photos of my cats who have crossed the rainbow bridge (I need to add my current kitty) and some pottery from a trip hubby and I took to Sedona, Arizona years ago.

Finally, I have a smaller bookcase that is situated behind my desk. This one holds craft books related to writing and anything I might use for research—a Time Life collection on mythical subjects and creatures, several books related to the Mothman, urban legends, and strange happenings in various states. There’s also a few card games and interactive creative cards tossed in for fun.’

smallbookshelf

‘The hardest thing Dawn asked was to pick a favorite book among those on my shelf. Um…*gnawing fingernails* Anyone who loves books knows how hard that is to do. This also doesn’t include the hundreds of titles on my Kindle, Kindle Light and iPad Mini.

When I think of favorite books, I’m always drawn back to those that made an impression on me when I was younger. Of those, I’m especially fond of Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes, and Dorothy Dunnett’s The Ringed Castle from the Lymond Chronicles. Today, I favor The Terror, by Dan Simons, Fever Dream by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, and Black Sun Rising by C. S. Friedman. Yeah, I know. I cheated. I named more than one ☺

Many thanks to Dawn for letting me ramble about my reading preferences. The only thing that gets me as excited as discussing writing, is discussing books!’

Thanks Mae! What a beautiful bookcase and so neat! There are so many books here I haven’t heard of I’m off to add some of them to my every growing ‘To Be Read List.’ That Time Life collection looks amazing, I’d love to have a look through that! It’s fascinating to see what books are on your shelf and what influences your writing, thank you so much for sharing.

What do you guys think? Are any of these your favourites too? If you’d like to know more about cryptozoology, myth and legend, then do stop by and check out Mae’s excellent blog.

If you’d like to connect with Mae, she can be found on:

Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads


Would you like to be a guest on ‘What’s On Your Shelf?’ I’d love to hear from you so get in touch below or through my contact page on www.dsnelson.co.uk

61 thoughts on “What’s On Your Shelf, Mae Clair?

    • Mae Clair says:

      Hi, Margot. Thanks for checking out the collection. I love to read across genres an think I have favorites in all of them 🙂
      Thanks for the lovely comment about the photo frames, too. I have a passion for vintage photos and have a lot of decorative frames with family photos and old vintage photos scattered throughout my house. Of course, my feline friends had to get special frames too 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. carmens007 says:

    A beautiful collection, Mae. I was sure you suffer from the same illness I do,remember? Bibliomania – that haunted the 1800s Europe. Except the cats that couldn’t miss from a cat person I like the pens in a corner. I have a sort of ODC with pens and pencils. Like books, I never have enough!
    Hope to see, soon, all your awesome books, in print format ,next to all the books you have on your shelf!
    Hugs from overseas!
    Carmen

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Hi, Carmen! Yes, I definitely suffer, like you, from Biblomania I love books!
    So funny that you have OCD with pens and pencils. I’m like that to an extent in that I have my favorite/special pen(s).
    Oh, and up on the top picture, to the right of The Witch of Lime Street, the next six books are actually paperback copies of my novels. Of course I had to have them in there 🙂
    Thanks so much for dropping by!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Mae Clair says:

        Yep, they’re both there, Carmen. I haven’t read a lot of Follet, but I positively loved Night Over Water and kept that one. The same with King…I hung onto my favorites, Salem’s Lot, Bag of Bones and The Shining. I’d say you have good eyesight 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. tpolen says:

    Your shelves are so neat! Although I’ve also donated many books, I’ve still run out of room, so mine are shoved in wherever they’ll fit. Hubby said I should alphabetize them and I asked why I should waste time doing that when I could be reading?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. rijanjks says:

    I love your bookshelves and just as I would have guessed, there is quite an array of genres on your shelves. Plus, I’m sure you straightened them for the pictures, right? 🙂 Love the glimpse.

    Like

  5. Judi Lynn says:

    Great shelves! It’s fun to see what other people read:) My poor shelves have become a jumble of a lot of different things–my printer, books, movies, and an overspill of dinnerware that won’t fit in my kitchen. Your shelves are so much more organized!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. John W. Howell says:

    Great bookshelves, Mae Clair. I was impressed that you are 1. neat and 2. you honor your departed pets. I do the same and always thought I was a little odd. If I’m like you there is hope. Thanks, Dawn for the fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Jacquie Biggar says:

    Beautiful shelves, Mae. I see many beloved collector books there. When we moved from our bi-level home to an RV, yes you read that right!, the one thing I wouldn’t give up was my bookshelves 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Claire says:

    Oh you are making me miss my bookcase! I decided to go for something I’ve dreamed of for years and get an entire wall bookcase built (like an old fashioned library) but there’s been a delay and my poor little books have been sitting in piles for weeks and it’s breaking my heart!

    Fab idea to learn Spanish through reading – I did that with Swedish and it worked great, though I have a vocabulary that occasionally confuses Swedes 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Hi Clair, thanks for stopping by. So sorry to hear you have homeless books! To be honest some of my books are on the floor and I have a bookcase! We’d love to see the new bookcase once it’s installed, it sounds amazing, if you’d like to stop by and share it with us.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mae Clair says:

      HI, Claire! I would love to have a full wall bookcase built. That is definitely going to be worth the wait when you have it finished.
      And thanks for letting me know you succeeded with learning Swedish. Sometimes I feel like I’m spinning my wheels with Spanish and it’s supposed to be one of the easier languages to learn!
      Many thanks for visiting today!

      Like

    • writerdsnelson says:

      I’ve got a box full I’m about to send to the local jumble and I had to rescue two as I was looking for them the other day and couldn’t remember where they were *sigh*. Thanks for stopping by Joan.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mae Clair says:

      I think it’s great how so many readers donate books to libraries and other sources, knowing others will enjoy them too. And I’m with you on ebooks, Joan. I buy a ton of them. And then, of course, there are certain books I just like in paperback or hardcover. So glad you dropped by to check out my collection. 🙂

      Like

  9. Julie Holmes, author says:

    Great bookshelves, Mae! And you like SWTWC and the Amber Chronicles, too. It’s been years since I read Amber. What a great variety. Ditto what SK said, though. My bookshelves would massively fail any sort of white glove test 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mae Clair says:

    SWTWC is one of my favorite books of all time, Julie. The Amber Chronicles I read decades ago, but it’s one of those I can’t bear to part with. I’ve also got Moorcock’s Elric Saga but that’s tucked away in a closet with my collection of comics and manga. Yes, I was quite the geek in my day, LOL

    Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

