Fairy Tale Friday: Hop O’ My Thumb

Over on DD Storyteller today it’s Fairy Tale Friday and I’m looking at a tale that’s often forgotten yet reminiscent of many of its contemporaries: Hop O’ My Thumb.

hop-o-my-thumb

‘Hop O’ My Thumb is the last tale Perrault recorded in his book, ‘Fairy Tales From the Past’ (Histoires ou contes du temps passé) written in 1697. The story is also known as ‘Le Petit Poucet’, which was a phrase used many years before, throughout the sixteenth century to describe someone who is small in stature.
The tale is about a mother and father who cannot afford to feed their seven children, all close in age and four of them twins. The youngest is very small and appears to the others to be a little stupid. He is nicknamed Hop O’ My Thumb.  If you’d like to read the story then you can find it here.
There are many elements of the fairy tale in this story. The use of a magical item, such as the seven league boots, to travel great distances is significant in Hop O’ achieving his fortune.  There is also an interesting juxtaposition between the seven sons, a magical number, and the reference to the ginger hair of the oldest, as during these times, red hair was considered to be a sign of wickedness (Markel, accessed online 2017).’

To read the full post click here 

6 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Friday: Hop O’ My Thumb

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    This is really so interesting! One thing that gets my attention right away is the way this fairy tale expresses social views, lots of times through symbolism. And of course, these stories are great ways to pass on social mores to children. I find that fascinating, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      So true Margot. We can tell a lot about the social structure at the time through fairy tales and a lot of it still applies today in one way or another. That’s us making sense of the world through stories again!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. coldhandboyack says:

    Your other site is blocked on my workplace PC. I’m at lunch, so I can do whatever I want. I used my phone to read it and leave a comment, but I’m not completely sure the comment went through. Good stuff, and I wish it were over here to make things easier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      The comment did get through and thank you for persevering Craig. I apologise that the site is not easier to use your end. I have no idea why. I know the Wix websites don’t really like it if your browser’s not up to date. Safari is a pain to use when editing my site and I need to use Firefox which is slow but works. I can read the site fine on Safari, though. I’ve no idea why it’s such a pain. The thing is, although I enjoy blogging for blogging sake and will always do it, to build up SEO and content relevant to the business side of things, the blog posts needs to be on my website. Please do comment here though if it’s easier and you want to. I completely understand.

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

