Childhood Memories

Kingswear is a little village across the estuary from Dartmouth that will always hold a place in my heart. I lived here for two years and I have some of my fondest childhood memories here.

The primary school, when I was there, had 45 children, infants and juniors. I lived in the sticks, as we say here, and a taxi collected me and my brother and the other farm kids from the surrounding area and took them into school. You can just see the grey/brown bricked school building, which is still a school, in the middle of this photo below.

kingswear-my-old-school

It’s at this school that I was part of a video we completed as a history project about the plague. Singing ring-a ring-a roses in the streets and learning how to make people disappear with the magic of film.

It’s the place that when it snowed my brother and I were given a tractor ride by the local farmer across the fields home so that we didn’t get stuck at school unable to get home. The place I shared homemade cake with the boy I sat next to as it was the only thing that stopped him playing up in class  and it’s the place where I planted a rowan tree which I would love to find again one day. It wasn’t to be on this trip though.  Finally even the memories of almost drowning in the swimming pool during a swimming lesson aren’t entirely unpleasant ones.

Our trip to Kingswear this time was fleeting but the memories are still happy ones. Buying my set of celebratory Royal Mail, Agatha Christie stamps. Watching the steam train with Beany as it came into the station and taking the car ferry back across to Dartmouth; Beany’s first trip on a car ferry. The car ferry is/was always a fun trip and consists of a tug boat that pulls a raft of cars across the estuary. You can click on the photos to see it in more detail.

From here we went on to live in the north-east for over ten years and although Durham is also special to me, it doesn’t hold the same nostalgia Kingswear does. It’s funny how some places affect us more than others  and that’s why I wanted to share these photos with you in the last stop in my Devon posts this month.


I hope you’ve enjoy the Devon posts this month. Which one was your favourite? Is there a place that’s close to your heart? I’d love to hear about it so don’t forget to let me know below.

4 thoughts on “Childhood Memories

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    I’ve really enjoyed all of your Devon posts.quite a lot! And I’ve loved seeing how much Beany has enjoyed your travels, too. She’s already making all sorts of the kinds of memories that will last her a lifetime. I’m looking forward to your next adventures…

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Margot, there’s more I could have told you all about, Saltram House being one but it’s far better to leave people wanting more 😉 Thanks for reading my ramblings!

      Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

