Every Day’s A Mystery

For me blogging is not only a way of sharing interests and learning about the world, it’s about evolving as individual writers. What we choose to share on our blogs changes over time and moves with us, in many cases, reflecting our lives.

I started blogging six years ago now, with a gardening blog. I wanted to learn more about horticulture and to start putting my stamp on our own garden. We had just bought our house. The blog soon moved on to documenting my journey to become a self-published writer. It stayed that way for a good few years until, in 2014, it became a parenting blog, when little Bean came along.  Somewhere during this time I lost the time for exploring the joys of reading and writing and became a mummy.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 14.10.23

Sunny Sundays in the garden with Bean

This isn’t a bad thing. It’s good to focus on the amazing new challenge that is before you, even if it doesn’t feel that way all the time and  I think this happens to many women when they first become mother’s. There’s a fine balance between embracing motherhood and not leaving your old self behind.

Recently, some of you may have noticed, the blog has moved on again. It still includes glimpses of our family life and Bean’s adventures – the day-to-day activities that often influence my writing – but now it also includes my own writing, craft projects and book reviews. It’s become a happy marriage of family time, work and me time.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 14.10.15

The first draft of ‘A Deadly Orientation’ is finished.

About four months ago I changed the name of the blog to ‘Rough Around The Edges.‘ I liked it but it didn’t feel quite right. It proved to be a good interim and helped me to move the blog forward. Now with my old URL and domain name coming up for renewal I decided to find a new name that encompassed all aspects of the blog.

We are about to remodel the whole garden and in some ways this is representative of the changes on the blog. The old gardening blog, inspired by the old garden, is now a blog that encompasses family life, as will our newly modelled garden. I can’t wait to share it with you later in the year when it’s finished!

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 14.10.31

‘Every Day’s A Mystery’, will have everything it had before and more. It will allow me to indulge my love of murder mystery and to promote my writing. Something we all have to do as self-published writers. With it will come the joy and adventure of family holidays, trips out and learning about the world.

I am permanently changing the name and I promise this will not be changed again. The new URL is https://everydaysamystery.wordpress.com if you’d like to change it in your reader. I hope you all think the new name is apt. I look forward to you joining me for more adventure and mystery every day.

cropped-every-days-a-mystery.jpg

4 thoughts on “Every Day’s A Mystery

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    All of this just shows that your blog is organic, which is exactly like life. I love it! And there’s no reason you shouldn’t allow your blog to change and evolve as you do. I’m looking forward to the next mystery… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Margot. I have changed the blog a lot over the years but it finally feels like it’s found it’s voice and I can’t wait to see where it goes next. I’m glad you’re coming along for the ride 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

