Book Review: In A Dark, Dark Wood, Ruth Ware

Year Published (UK) – 2015

First Line – ‘It hurts.’

Denouement – The Glasshouse

A Review:

This book starts at a sprint and continues throughout. Fast paced novels aren’t usually for me. I get to the end of them and wonder what on earth just happened. However, In A Dark, Dark, Wood’,  is intelligently written with every scene serving a purpose and revealing a little more the mystery. The reader is compelled to travel onwards in order to discover the truth in a whodunnit with a style that is more Patricia Highsmith than Agatha Christie.

The story is told from the point of view of Leonora Shaw, a crime writer who finds herself waking up in a hospital knowing that something very bad has just happened but she doesn’t know what. The answer lies in her past – doesn’t it always – and Nora is forced to confront the skeletons in her closet.

Pieced together like a jigsaw puzzle from the memories Leonora shares with the reader, this is an excellent book and worthy of the praise it has been given in the press. If dark, thriller type whodunnits are up your street, then let Ware take you on a run through a dark, dark wood.


Have you read any of Ruth Ware’s work? What did you think, I’d love to hear. Don’t forget to leave you comments below.

You can read more of my reviews via Goodreads here.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: In A Dark, Dark Wood, Ruth Ware

    • writerdsnelson says:

      It is. It’s not my usual read. I can’t remember how it ended up on the TBR never mind being ramped up to holiday read but I read it in two days flat. I don’t usually do that! I neither have the time nor desire – I’m more of a tortoise than a hare when it comes to reading books- but this book made me want to read on!

      It’s the moving from one point in time to another and back again whilst filling in the pieces. I’m a sucker for it. Peter Robinson’s In A Dry Season does this too. That’s also a very good book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

