Make Do And Mend: The Butler Gets A New Job

There are changes afoot in our garden this year and one of the first items in the garden to recieve its P45 is the butler.

February Garden - Butler sink

I’m very fond of the old butler/Belfast sink. It invokes a great deal of nostalgia for me. When I was younger we had a sink in our back garden and nurtured tadpoles, fed them cat food and watched them grow and transform. until they hopped off as frogs to join their friends in the pond.I imagine one day doing this with Beany but she’s a bit young at the moment.

I like having a water feature in the garden, a little watering hole for the birds, although it’s fair to say this one has become a little dilapidated over time. Now Beany’s walking, a large container of water in the garden isn’t really that safe and so I looked for a way to repurpose my old friend.

Butler gets a new job- empty sink

And then the answer came to me. A sandpit for Beany! For the grand total of £6  (£3 for a bag of play sand and £3 for the toys) the butler has a new job!

Butler gets a new job - sink and sand

I washed the sink out and gave it a good clean and put the plug back in to stop the sand disappearing. The underside of the plug means the sink is a bit wobbly, so if you try this at home you might want to place something under one end of the sink to level it out a bit to prevent toes and fingers getting stuck underneath. It depends how inquisitive and steady on their feet, your little one is. I also have a piece of wood from an old shelving unit I can varnish and use as a cover.

Butler gets a new job - beany playing in the sand

As you can see Beany is having lots of fun. Mainly transferring the sand out of the sink but we’re working on that and she’s gradually learning how to make shapes and build castles or rather mounds with the sand.

Butler gets a new job - beany and the sand pit

The great thing is, when she tires of having a sand pit in years to come, we still have the sink and the butler can go back to being a water feature.


I’d love to hear your upcycling ideas, so don’t forget to let me know below. 

6 thoughts on “Make Do And Mend: The Butler Gets A New Job

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    What a fabulous idea! Not only are you making good use of the sink, but you’ve also given Beany a great new play experience, and that’s terrific. She can be outdoors when the weather allows it, get some exercise, and explore. And I really like the fact that it’s not difficult or expensive to do this sort of upcycling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. coldhandboyack says:

    That’s a pretty good idea. I wanted to take a large round tub of some kind and turn it into a marbles shooting arena for my kids. They grew up before I scored something large enough. I got here through FB today. These posts don’t seem to be coming to my reader any more, but it say’s I’m still following. I’ll have to reset something somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Craig. I’ve no idea what’s going on with WordPress at the mo. It did a similar thing to me, but instead it actually unfollowed me! Good to know facebook works on occasion. The marbles game sounds like a great idea. Beany’s very much enjoying her sand pit. Now we just need some more sun!

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

