Tales From The Bay Window

Some of you will know that I have recently started storytelling events for children aged 4-8. I’ve always written silly poems that are sing-song rhymes and this journey has brought me back in touch with that side of my creativity. It has opened up a whole new world of children characters and poems.

I didn’t used to share these poems as, like I say, they are just a bit of fun but I’m going to start and so ladies and gentleman, here is my first Tale From The Bay Window:

Mermaid with poem

The Mermaid & The Fish

There once was a mermaid,
who kept a fish in a bowl.
she didn’t need to,
but she wouldn’t be told.

The bowl swayed and rocked
with the ocean’s swell
and the mermaid watched
from a large clam shell.

But the fish wasn’t happy
he tried to tell her his troubles
‘I’m getting sea sick’, he shouted,
but all she saw was bubbles.

And then he discovered
if he swam fast and in circles
he could reach the top of the bowl
and swim off with the turtles

The turtles were surfers,
and the fish learnt new skills.
Back flips and sommersaults
but he’d soon had his fill

He longed for the simple life
back on the reef.
Even his bowl
would be a welcome relief.

He waved goodbye to new friends
and they promised to visit
and he could always come back
if ever he should miss it.

The mermaid was happy
her fish had returned
and as she combed her hair
she thought of what she’d learned

If you live in the sea
fish don’t need an aquarium
but they like to explore their surroundings
so just make sure you vary them.

2 thoughts on “Tales From The Bay Window

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Margot and goodmorning! Unusual to see you at this time 🙂 I agree this is fun and I’m determined not to lose the fun in the storytelling, enjoy myself and hopefully entertain people, young and old, along the way.

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

