Hangry!

I’d like to talk to you about a condition that has, up until recently, not had the recognition it requires. That’s right, it’s the state of being hangry.

What’s that you say? Hangry:

hangry

I get this a lot. Admittedly it’s a bit of a first world problem and something I should just get over, hey if I’m able to eat what I want when I want, there’s not really a problem right?  Actually if you have a high rate of metabolism, as I do, it can be a difficult thing to deal with.

You find yourself getting angry for no real reason, shouting at your spouse for a variety of fairly petty offences, and finding that toy your child’s been playing with for the last half-hour, a weeny bit irritating.

So eat something!

I know, I know, but the problem is I usually get hangry around the little one’s dinner time. It’s a busy time of the day. From about four o’ clock I’m preparing the evening meal, making Beany’s meal, then putting her to bed and tidying the living room after Hurricane Bean. That brings us to anywhere between seven and eight before we eat.

Cake - 123rf - Amarita Petcharakul

Photo via 123rf.com by Amarita Petcharakul

So have a snack! 

I know, I know, but I’m rubbish at snacking. I eat, well, rubbish: biscuits, cake, hunks of cheese, it’s not necessarily good for me. It also results in a sugar high and a very bad low. I’ve always been affected by sugar, since I was Beany’s age,  and I know better than to binge on it but hey, we’re all guilty of doing things we shouldn’t. The problem is, I’m trying to teach Beany how to snack healthily and she’s at an age now where she sees what mummy’s eating and thinks that might just be better than what she’s got. I also have a lot planned this year: writing two novels, launching three and looking after a one-year-old are just a few of the things on the list. I need energy.

Fruit and Vegetables - 123rf photostella

Photo via 123rf.com by photostella

So what are you going to do about it?

For many January often equals a new diet. I don’t actually believe in diets. They are only good for the duration of the diet. What I believe in is eating a healthy diet with everything in moderation. So instead of changing everything at once, I’m going to try to change my habits: bit-by-bit.

I’ve invested in a decent blender and I’m going to start having smoothies twice a day. They’ll include foods that give you energy like bananas, oats, yogurt and green veg. I can sweeten them with honey or maple syrup rather than sugar, if I need a sweet kick. I’m hoping by eating more fruit and veg this will also give me more energy.

To help me, I’ve bought a book – Five Weeks To Sugar Free by Davina McCall – which has refined sugar-free, but sweet snack recipes in it that I can try out. It’s definitely fashionable at the moment to go on a sugar-free diet but it’s important to say that I am focussing on changing my habits where refined sugar is concerned, as this is what affects my mood, not natural sugars. I want to feel healthier and have more energy.  If I can keep at it then hopefully I’ll form new habits that I can pass on to Beany.

Smoothies - 123rf Sasin Tipchai

Photo via 123rf.com by Sasin Tipchai

It’s difficult to put a figure on how many days or weeks it takes to form a new habit; some say a month, others say two months. I think habits take much longer to adapt and perhaps you always need to check in on yourself to make sure you’re still doing the things you need to do to stay healthy.  So as a check in, this year, I’m going to try to share four of my favourite smoothie recipes each month.

Beany and I are going to snack healthy together in A Year Of Smoothies.


I’d love to hear if you’ve tried to go sugar-free and how successful you were and I’d love to know your favourite smoothie recipes, so don’t forget to leave your recipe in the comments below.

Photos are via 123f.com – I’m not that good yet but I’m working on it.

2 thoughts on “Hangry!

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    It isn’t as easy as it seems to avoid being hangry when you’ve got a little one, is it? And as you say, that’s the time when one’s most likely to eat exactly the wrong things. I like your idea of making smoothies. There are some great recipes, and I’ll bet you’ll find yourself a lot less likely to fall prey to the ‘hangry monster.’

    Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

