Twelve Stories Challenge: January Prompt

One of my goals this year is to write more short stories. I write novels, in the main, but short stories are a good way of learning new styles and writing outside your comfort zone. Here’s where my Twelve Stories Challenge comes in.

On the first Monday of each month I’m going to share a story prompt. It might be an image, an overheard sentence, music, a book cover or something from a film I watched. It will contain the inspiration for the short story.

I will then write a short story of 1000 words of less; a short, fun micro-fiction style project. On the last day of the month I’ll post it.

I’m inviting fellow writers and creatives to join in. There’s no linky, it’s just for fun and you certainly don’t have to join in every month.

If you write a story and would like to share it then when I publish my story at the end of the month, just pop a link to your story in the comments below it.

Hopefully this will be a fun creative way of learning from each other and seeing how each of us in inspired by things in a different way.

I’m really quite excited about this project and I can’t wait to get back to some short story writing, so here goes with the first prompt.

It’s a musical one and takes the form of a cover version of Jona Lewie’s, ‘You Will Always Find Him In The Kitchen At Parties’ by Man Like Me

Good Luck!

Have fun.

See you at the end of the month.


For more information on the Twelve Stories Challenge and how to get involved. Click here.

5 thoughts on “Twelve Stories Challenge: January Prompt

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Margot, I’m really excited about it. I love writing short stories and I just got out of practice so this should help me get back into it and, of course, learn from others, which is what it’s all about 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thank you and please do! The more the merrier. I’ll be posting my story on the last day of the month and anyone who’d like to share their’s can post the link to it under the post in the comments. Looking forward to reading your’s 🙂

      Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

