Barbers & SWAG #PointShoot

What treat I had on Friday night; a trip to the opera! I heard the Welsh National Opera was at The Mayflower in Southampton, performing Sweeney Todd, there was no way I was missing that! With the husband looking after Bean I went on what seemed like my first ‘grown up’ outing for months!

Sweeney Todd

It was a fantastic performance with some rousing choruses, dark humour and, I’m pleased to say, a very satisfactory ending. I’m going to write a proper review over on my writing blog later in the month, so if you’d like to know more, watch out for that.

The next day it was off to the hairdresser. The appointment was made months ago and I was not put off by the demon barber’s story! Or was I instead inspired, because this happened?:

Infintie selfie

Yes my shoulder length hair is no more! I was fed up with tying it back all the time. I’d had enough, it had to go and I’m gradually getting used to it.

Sunday walks are definitely a British thing and living in such a lovely village, with plentiful surrounding countryside, this Sunday we did exactly that.

Autumnal Walk

Dan’s brother was staying with us, or Uncle Johnny as he is now known. Some names just lend themselves so well to the avuncular role. It was good to get out and breathe in the crisp October air. The vineyard is beautiful at the moment and full of grapes! Against all the colours of autumn it’s a lovely place to be.

We headed off on a particular circuit with the aim of trying a bit of Geocaching. We are extreme novices and only found one out of the seven caches we were looking for, mainly because we were looking for the wrong type of thing, it transpires, and because the GPS just wasn’t working.  The cache we did find had a joker in it; a hidden message I fear.

Our First Geocache Find

Some of the boxes contain SWAG (stuff we all get) and you swap something in if you take something out. I might do a little post about this later in the week so you can share in our failure but it hasn’t put us off and we did find one! We’ll be out again, hunting for hidden caches soon.

A brilliant weekend in all, adult time, mummy pamper time and family time. Hurrah!


I’d love to know what you’ve bean up to this weekend, so make sure you let me know in the comments below. You can follow my eclectic photos via Instagram for more murder, mystery, nature and monochrome. I’m linking up with #PointShoot, hosted by Snowing Indoors and You Baby Me Mummy

snowingindoors

 

 

10 thoughts on “Barbers & SWAG #PointShoot

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    What a beautiful new hairstyle!! It looks lovely on you, too! And I’m so glad you had the chance to see Sweeney Todd; it’s such a great show, isn’t it? All that and a Sunday walk? Yes, you definitely had a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dearmummyblog says:

    Sounds like a busy couple of days! Love the new hairstyle! My mummy gets frustrated with tying her hair back too! Love what you’ve done with your images as well, the colour splash works really well! #PointShoot x

    Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

