A Week Without A Washing Machine…

I was recently asked if I could go for a week without my washing machine. Beany’s nappies are cloth so my first reaction was what? But I’ve never been one to shy away from a challenge and I think it would be an excellent experiment to see exactly how much more environmentally friendly it is.

So, next month I’m going to pick a week to go without the washing machine. I’ll use a week in this month as a control to compare it to, so I can see how much difference there is. I’ve also been researching old techniques and tips for hand-washing nappies. I’m wondering if I should invest in a good old-fashioned wash board to get me through the week!

washboard

Join me on Pinterest as I prepare for a week without the washer…


Look out for more posts on this challenge and I’d love to know if you’ve tried to go  without your washer, or if you always hand wash. Any hints and tips are gratefully received.

6 thoughts on “A Week Without A Washing Machine…

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    Oh, what an interesting experiment! I’m sure we don’t even think sometimes about exactly how much water and so on we use when the washing machine’s going. I’ll be keen to know how you do with this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carolinehounsell says:

    I used the kids to tramp up and down in the bath. My biggest problem is getting washing for a large family down the stairs and into the garden without flooding the house or breaking the washing lines as you never wring out towels as well as a wringer or washing machine does. Nappies used to go in soak in buckets and then boiled – dont know if you can do that with these new nappies – mine were terry squares and muslins.

    Liked by 1 person

    • writerdsnelson says:

      I will definitely have to soak the nappies! some good tips for tramping with child labour, not sure Beany’s ready for that yet lol. The wringing washing out is an interesting conudrum…

      Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

