A Village Show

The Horticultural Society in our village, Hambledon, has a show each year and this year we were lucky to have good weather, in one of the hottest days of the summer so far.

There’s always lots to see and plenty of community projects present, like the air ambulance, fire service, scouts, the RNLI, local businesses and children entertainers. Portsmouth Water was there this year, giving out some great water saving freebies and advice. I’m going to write a separate post all about this next week.

Each year, at the show, there are a variety of different vegetable, fruit, flower, baking and children categories to be won. These are normally in a large tent, but this year they were actually inside the hall, which was a welcome respite from the heat.

There were the usual vegetable and fruit categories for the serious gardeners…

The Longest Bean category was my favourite. Our Bean’s getting so big now, I think she might have won this category had we entered her.

There were some fabulous flower arrangements and my favourite was this one.

Hambledon Show - Flower Arrangement

I loved the ingenious moss-covered boots. It was so creative and I think as second place they were robbed of the glory of first. The judges’ felt it should have contained more flowers that would have been found on a walk in the countryside; I’m not sure but of course the winner was also very good.

There were some really fun children categories, where the local children made vegetable animals.

 

My favourite has to be the cauliflower sheep and the marrow whale

Then there was the baking categories in which an array of cakes, shortbread, jams and quiches adorned the tables, as well as the hotly contested Gentleman’s Cake category.

I loved the look of the Ploughmans’ Quiches and I’m going to have to see if I can find a recipe for them.

We couldn’t stay too long as the sun was really far too hot for a little Bean. But she enjoyed looking around the exhibits from her seat in the back pack and we had a lovely time enjoying our community’s endeavours.

Do you have a village show? We’d love to hear about it if you do so don’t forget to let us know in the comments below…

2 thoughts on “A Village Show

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Absolutely Margot. In all honesty, it wasn’t the best show they’ve had and I think that’s because these things just aren’t attended. Yet again communities are overlooking what’s right on their doorstep! One of my aims is to get involved in more community activities myself, as I too am guilty of this 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

