The Weald & Downland Food & Folk Festival

It was a bank holiday the Monday and, rather uncharacteristically, it was sunny. Mummy bean says it’s never sunny on bank holidays!

We decided to take advantage of the lovely weather and head on out to the Weald & Downland museum, Food and Folk Festival.

When we arrived we had to park in a field. I’ve visited fields with mummy and daddy bean before but not one filled with this many cars! It was amazing. Mummy bean says it was a shame there wasn’t another way to get there but it’s a tricky place to get to, from where we live, if you don’t have a car.

There was quite a queue to get in, as you’d imagine given the amount of cars, and I was starting to wonder what all the fuss was about so I shouted at mummy to take me out of the pram so I could have a look. I’ve never seen so many people in a field!

Once we were in, there were lots of wonderful smells and sounds. So much going on. There were beans selling local produce, beans singing and dancing, beans telling stories and beans showing people how to make traditional items like bows and arrows and garden trugs.

We visited a stall run by a gentleman bean who makes the honey from West Sussex college, Seaford. He was eighty years old, that’s a lot of experience and had nine hives. We bought some pickled onions from him and some honey. Mummy bean says she’s looking forward to having the pickled onions with a ploughman’s lunch and bead and honey to follow. Sounds good to me!

In all the excitement we forgot to ask his name, so if you’re reading this, give us a shout out so we can tell people who you are!

Then we visited some beans from Worthing. They were called MallowShmallow and made some really yummy marsh mallows.

I say they were yummy, mummy bean wouldn’t let me taste them. She said I was too little. I don’t believe her though, I think she wanted them all for herself.

By now it was time for lunch and we sat on the grass and had a picnic. We bought our tarts and cake for the picnic from Penny Locke at Picnic and Hamper.

Daddy had asparagus and cheddar which he said was very yummy. Mummy had goats cheese, red onion and rocket which was a bit bitter. The rhubarb muffin was tasty but it didn’t really have enough rhubarb in it for mummy and daddy beans taste. I had my milk, as usual, and I got to watch some musicians at the same time.

Weald & Downland Museum Food Fair 13

After that I was just sat on the picnic blanket with mummy and daddy beans, looking around at all the other beans, when some very funny dancers appeared. One of them had his face painted black. Some of them had sticks and they had raggle tangle clothes on.

Weald & Downland Museum Food Fair 10

Later I found out they were called Rabble and they are something called morris dancers. They did some great dances!

After the dancing we had wander around some more stalls. There was a man from the council raising awareness of recycling and letting people know what plastic they can recycle. We think this is a great idea. As you know us green beans are always trying to find more things that can be recycled. He also gave us a book on how to Eat Well, Waste Less. Mummy beans was very pleased with this!

Weald & Downland Museum Food Fair 5

The sun was starting to go in so we headed back to the car and I was so worn out I fell asleep in the pram.

I enjoyed my day out at the food and folk festival and I’m hoping mummy and daddy beans will take me out a lot more now the summer’s here. I’m looking forward to exploring lots of new places and learning what bigger beans get up to.


 

We’d love to know what you got up to this bank holiday weekend, so don’t forget to let us know below!

 

3 thoughts on “The Weald & Downland Food & Folk Festival

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day, Little Bean! I’d have wanted to get out of my pram too and look around Good job you shouted at your mummy and daddy beans about that. Big Beans can be very difficult to train that way! Oh, and I suspect you’re probably right about the marshmallows… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

