Mummy and Bean Eat Out: Giraffe, Gunwarf Quays, Portsmouth

I had a very exciting lunch today. I’ve suspected, for some time now, that bigger beans eat lots of interesting things; not just milk!

This has been confirmed recently when mummy bean let me have a tiny taste of something she was eating. I could have eaten a whole bottle full but mummy bean says I have to wait a few more weeks before I can do that. I’m looking forward to that but for now I’ll hand you over to mummy bean who’s going to tell you all about the cafe we went to.


Today we went to meet some friends for lunch in a cafe called Giraffe in Portsmouth. We’ve been to Giraffe before but this is the first time we’d been with little bean. Here’s what we thought of the experience. Please excuse the grainy photos, it was a very grey day outside and I only had my phone with me.


Overall:

Giraffe is a lively cafe that’s family friendly with excellent service. It was annoying that their health and safety policy does not allow a bottle to be heated at the table (see below for more detail) but it’s hardly the staff’s fault if this is their policy.
The food is tasty but not inexpensive and the smoothies were not the best I’ve tasted but overall this was a good experience with good facilities for those with children.

Overall score: 11/15 Got time to read more? Let’s break it down…


Let’s start with the Menu: Giraffe Gunwarf 5 The menu is an eclectic mix of ranch burgers, Mexican style food and all day breakfasts. It feels like it can’t make up its mind what it wants to be but it’s fair to say there is something for everyone. There’s a good childrens’ menu and the staff are very accommodating when asking for off menu changes. The drinks menu is very comprehensive and they offer a good range of smoothies. So what did it all taste like?


Food: What did I have?

  • Rodeo Chicken Burger – The rodeo chicken burger comes with a side order of skin on fries. I love fries and these are really tasty. Not skinny fries as you might expect put somewhere in-between chips and fries. There is no side salad but there is a healthy portion of salad in the burger bun. The chicken was tasty and definitely not processed meat. We had a side order of onion rings which were a bit greasy but good tasting grease. It just tastes so good somedays!
  • Tiramisu Sundae – I always worry when I order dessert that it’s going to be huge. Especially when it’s a sundae. It can just be off-putting sometimes. This sundae was a perfect size. For me, it didn’t have quite enough tiramisu sponge in it, perhaps less chocolate ice-cream and more coffee sponge would give it more of a tiramisu taste.
  • Hippy Hippy Shake – This smoothie was very promising, billed as including, pineapple, mango, passionfruit and banana. Unfortunately it just tasted of banana, I could barely taste the mango or the pineapple which was a real shame. Bean had a tiny taste and she yummed it up as banana is a real hit with her at the moment.
  • Decaffeinated Americano – So here’s my gripe, and my husband’s; why can you not get a filter coffee these days, why is it always an Americano. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very nice Americano, but I don’t want shots of espresso I want coffee! I know it’s a la mode, but it’s annoying, so decaf it was so I don’t bounce of the walls.

Overall, nice main and a tasty dessert but disappointing beverages so I can’t really give it more than an average mark.

Food: 3/5

Service

Giraffe at Gunwarf is a busy place. For those that don’t know it’s a shopping outlet and at the weekend it can get jam-packed but for us it’s a good place to meet friends.
We were met promptly at the door by friendly staff who found us a table that accommodated two push chairs and four adults. Minimal fuss, maximum service.
We were served quickly although the drinks were a little slow in arriving, but we were chatting so we didn’t notice that much.
Overall, friendly staff who didn’t rush you and were very helpful.
Service: 5/5

Facilities:

The tables are sociable and adequately set apart so you don’t feel jammed together. The restaurant is big enough to wheel a push chair around which is a big consideration. If you can’t have the pushchair by your table there is enough space by the door to safely leave them.
The baby change is perfect as it encompasses a toilet, basin and changing facilities. It does double as the disabled toilet though which I always feel a bit concerned about in case someone wants to use it but rationally this is the case for any toilet isn’t it?
The real problem came when we wanted to warm beanly’s milk. We were told that health and safety did not allow them to provide us with a jug of hot water. They did say they could take the bottle away and warm it in a jug behind the counter for us. Now this is where it gets tricky.
I can’t see the counter from where I am, I don’t know what’s happening to that bottle. It’s not that I don’t trust the staff, it’s the fact that bottle and my child’s feed is my responsibility, I want to know what happens to it.
They did offer to let me stand by the bar and watch them heat it but I politely declined and instead we let the bottle warm up naturally. It didn’t take that long as I’d made it before we set out for the day and bean was, thankfully in a patient mood.
I can’t blame the staff for this which is why I have not marked the service down but instead the facilities. This is clearly a management decision. The real irony is, one of our friends had a large Americano in a mug which was large enough to warm bottle in. Surely this large cup of coffee flavoured hot water, is just as dangerous as the water we requested for the bottle. I’ll leave you to decide that one.
Overall we had a very pleasant experience in Giraffe and we would go back there but I’d recommend taking a bottle warmer!
Facilities 3/5 

If you found this review useful, please let me know and I would love to hear your experiences of Giraffe restaurants, so be sure to leave your comments below.

Look out for more restaurant reviews from Bean and the Voice Eat Out, coming soon.
2 thoughts on “Mummy and Bean Eat Out: Giraffe, Gunwarf Quays, Portsmouth

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    I love this comprehensive review! I’m glad you had a good lunch even if you didn’t get the beverage you wanted. And remembering a bottle warmer is a good idea! I can just imagine how much Bean liked her taste of smoothie – yummmm! I remember the blissful expression on my own Bean’s face the first time she tasted a yoghurt smoothie.

    Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

