A Cheeky Change

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS REFERENCES TO POO!

image

Sometimes, after I’ve eaten, something else happens. I haven’t quite figured it out yet. It’s a rumbling in my stomach, then a rumbling somewhere further down and then mummy picks me up and says: ‘we better change your bottom’. I think my bottom’s fine but it seems she feels the need to change it almost eight times a day. I can’t remember what my original bottom was like, it’s been changed so many times.

What I can say is, mummy bean is very careful what she puts on my skin. Eventually she wants to use reusable nappies but I’m a bit small for them at the moment. She says I’ll probably be big enough in the next few weeks. Maybe that’s why she changes my bottom so much; each time it must get a bit bigger.

Even though she’s using biodegradable disposable nappies for a while, she is using reusable wipes called Cheeky Wipes. They are lovely and soft on my bottom and very good at cleaning up something mummy bean calls poopageddon.

Because my skin is shiny and new, mummy bean’s only been using water to clean me up and then some cream to stop me getting sore. So when the lovely people at Cheeky Wipes offered to send us some bean-skin friendly, organic coconut oil and a fresh wipes box to use with it, mummy bean thought it was a great idea.

CW1

Now when my bottom’s changed mummy bean uses pre-soaked Cheeky Wipes soaked in water and the coconut oil, in a Cheeky Wipe fresh tub. Mummy bean says that you could use your own tub but that the fresh tub shows you exactly where to fill the water to get the wipes the right kind of wet: not sopping and not too dry. It also has a seal on it which stops them getting musty. If you want to use this method when you’re out and about, Cheeky Wipes also do bags that do the same job. To make sure they don’t sit around for too long mummy bean only soaks fifteen at a time and fills the water to the first marker.

The wipes used to be warm when mummy bean soaked them at each change but now they are cold and I don’t like that so much but it does mean they are ready and waiting so changing doesn’t take as long. This is good because then I can get back to my milk.

The addition of the coconut oil means my new bottom is nice and soft and smells lovely again. Mummy bean melts a bit of the oil in warm water before soaking the wipes. She says this is the easiest way to do it. The oil is completely safe to use with reusable nappies too and doesn’t affect their absorbancy.

The coconut oil can be used directly on skin for nappy rash, dry skin or as a lip balm. Mummy says if you’re going to do this the oil is in a hard block and is quite difficult to get out of the tub so you will need to have warm hands to melt it. Also if you are changing a bottom and want to use the coconut oil as a lip balm, be careful not to double dip, whatever that is.

I have to say, every time I get a new bottom it feels very nice and I can have a little play or a nap knowing that with every change of my bottom I get bigger and very soon I’ll be in lovely cloth nappies!

You can find Cheeky Wipes, via their website, via Facebook or via Twitter.


Thank you to Cheeky Wipes UK for providing the coconut oil and Fresh Wipes Box for the purposes of review. I’m, linking up with Tried and Tested Tuesday run by Family Fever and We’re Going On An Adventure.
Family Fever
17 thoughts on “A Cheeky Change

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    They sound a very useful product, Little Bean! And about changing your bottom? Well, all of you keeps getting bigger, so it makes sense that your bottom does too. And you can tell your mummy bean that when you get bigger, and start eating big bean food, it’ll be lots easier to change your nappies.

    Like

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Hi Monkey Footed Mummy. Bean is a few weeks away from cloth nappies but the Cheeky Wipes people say this is safe to use with cloth nappies. As you know there are lots of barrier creams that aren’t. Cheeky Wipes sell a travel size pot on their website for ยฃ2.50 so it wouldn’t be a lot to try it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Beth says:

    Ooh they only came with essential oils when I bought mine a couple of years ago. Shame my little one is going to be potty trained soon (I hope!) because this coconut solution sounds yummy!

    Like

  3. Colette B says:

    I’ve not tried Cheeky Wipes myself but my friend raves about them.
    Thanks so much for linking up with #TriedTested this week x๏ปฟ

    Liked by 1 person

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

