January Green Bean Challenge: Reducing Plastic Waste

plastic waste copy

It’s been quite a month here at Beanly Towers. I arrived in my new space and straight away I was learning all about the world around me in December’s Green Bean Challenge. I’ve also been trying to train my parent beans, which I tell you is hard work. Much harder work than looking after the animals in the garden this winter.

Thank you to everyone who joined in with December’s Green Bean Challenge. This month we’ve had fun learning about worms, birds in the garden, how to make bird food, what plants to grow to attract wildlife, how to make a pond from a butler sink and how to create a better environment in your garden for the wildlife in the winter.

Now it’s January and a whole new year. This month we are trying to cut down on plastic in our waste bins and will be revisiting old ways and finding new ways to do this. We’ll even have a look at naked shopping!

We’d love other beans to join in, so do let us know what you are doing to reduce plastic waste in your home. Even if it’s just one thing, it makes a difference.

We’d love to know your tips to reduce plastic waste and so please share your comments and pictures with us on the blog, on twitter (@beantweeting), or Instagram (@writerDSNelson). Together we can do our bit for Earth and make sure it’s still here for every Bean.

Good luck!

 

green-earth2

6 thoughts on “January Green Bean Challenge: Reducing Plastic Waste

  1. Rebecca Bradley says:

    I love this idea! I hate what we are doing to our planet. I particularly hate plastic carrier bags. We now use cotton bags that we take to the supermarket with us everytime. 🙂

    Like

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Thanks Rebecca. Think this one will be the trickiest yet but we’ll see what we can come up with for January’s Green Bean Challenge 🙂

      Mummy bean gave you a shout out in her newsletter this month and she hopes the launch is going well!x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rebecca Bradley says:

        I saw it! I was going to come looking for your email to thank you! Doh, as I write this I’ve just realised I could have just hit reply! I get your newsletter. Thank you so much! I was shocked and very appreciative xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • writerdsnelson says:

        You’re welcome Rebecca, and you shouldn’t be shocked, I’m enjoying it, and it’s not my usual read. Thanks for getting my newsletter, hope you like the changes I’ve made. Life has changed so much in the last month I thought the newsletter should reflect how it’s changed my writing 🙂

        Like

  2. Margot Kinberg says:

    I like the idea of using less plastic when you can. I’ve a few cotton totes that I’ve gotten at conferences that I use to buy things. It’s better than using only plastic bags.

    Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

