How To Make An Old Boy Stand Tall

 

The voices have been doing lots of work towards getting my new space ready for when I arrive. Daddy voice says that although I’m only a little bean I seem to have a lot of things to store.

The voice has been telling me all about the clothes she has bought me, and those that people have given me, to keep me warm when I’m in the new space. When I arrive it will be something called winter. That can be very cold. I have noticed it’s got a bit colder.

Daddy voice keeps putting his hand on the Voice’s tummy, to say hello to me. It makes the voice shout and it makes me wriggle. The voice says that’s because Daddy voice’s hand is cold. If that’s what cold is, then I’m definitely going to need some clothes!

The voice says she has a special place to put all my clothes to keep them safe. It’s something called a Tallboy and it used to be Daddy voice’s, when he was a little bean. Because we are trying to be green beans, the voice says she’s done something called upcycling. Upcycling is taking something old and making it better.

Here’s how she did it:

Take one old Tallboy.

 

Clean the cupboard down with a damp cloth and dry. Next, take some fun, jungle animal, self adhesive vinyl.

 

TB8

 

Measure the panels you want to cover and cut the vinyl to size.

 

Carefully attach the vinyl to the panel you are covering, slowly and with a damp cloth, to push out any air bubbles.

To cover the drawers, remove the handles and repeat the above process. Once the vinyl is attached, take a bradle (make sure a big bean is doing this and be careful it’s sharp) and pierce holes in the vinyl where the screws were for the drawer handles. They should be easy to find. Now, reattach the handle.

Your completed project should look something like this!

The voice says you could also paint your old furniture but this is much quicker. Plus the vinyl is wipe clean so sticky bean finger marks can be wiped away easily.

If you’ve had a go at upcycling furniture we’d love to see, so don’t forget to let us know on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or in the comments box below. Just follow the links.

Happy Upcycling!

9 thoughts on “How To Make An Old Boy Stand Tall

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    Oh, Little Bean, you’re going to have a terrific place to put those things called clothes. And you are indeed going to need them! Don’t worry; you’ll find out for yourself in just a few weeks – practically no time at all.

    Like

  2. Deborah says:

    What a great job of upcycling! I love it! A great place to store all of your clothes, Bean! You will really like it. It will make your space so cheerful!

    Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

