Testosterone Fuelled Noise

 

There’s been a lot of noise today. The Voice says it’s the other voice, the one she calls daddy, sanding down my new space. Sanding is a way of preparing walls ready for them to be painted. Paint is what is put on the walls next, to make them different colours. It sounds messy.

I hope they are not going to do too much. I’d like my new space to be the same as the one I’m in now: dark and quiet. Well, apart from the whooshing sound, but that helps me sleep. I wonder if the space I’m in now had sanding? And maybe this dark stuff is paint. Hmmm. Anyway, I was having a lovely sleep and now I’m not. 

According to the Voice there are other ways to sand that are quieter but that daddy’s got something called testosterone that means he likes power tools. The Voice says we don’t have as much testosterone as daddy because we are girls, but that doesn’t mean I won’t like power tools, it just makes it more likely that I won’t find them necessary. I’m very confused. If testosterone makes you that noisy I don’t think I’ll like it.

The Voice says she’s done a lot of shopping this week and that she and daddy are very nearly ready for when I arrive in the new space. She says there’s not much left to do; only a few things left to buy, some bits and bobs she wants to make for me (she says she’ll tell you about those later) and the decorating. It sounds complicated.

I’ll be arriving in the new space in a few months, at the beginning of something called December. Other voices keep saying that that’s close to something called Christmas. I hope that’s not a power tool!

2 thoughts on “Testosterone Fuelled Noise

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    It sounds as though both your Voices are very excited for your arrival, Bean. I hope that your Voice will post ‘photos of your new space. I’ll bet you’re going to love it! Oh, and don’t worry. Christmas isn’t a power tool. I think you’ll come to love it, too.

    Like

    • writerdsnelson says:

      Oh good, thank you Margot. I’m glad about that. The Voice says she will post some before and after photos ( I don’t know what they are) once my new space is finished.

      Like

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

