Snack Attack!

I’m getting hungry in here. The Voice says it’s because I’m growing and although I want chocolate and cakes, she says I have to eat healthy things too. 


A fact of pregnancy is you’re going to get hungry. The eating for two phrase isn’t strictly true, you’ll end up the size of a house if you actually do, in fact, eat 4000 calories a day (twice the recommended daily amount for a woman) but you do get hungry. This means you need things that are going to fill you up rather than give you a quick fix. Don’t get me wrong I still have the quick fixes in the cupboard, sometimes the only thing that will do is a chocolate bar, but I try to eat the healthy stuff too. So for when you’re  feeling good, here’s some of the other snacks you could try:

Clockwise from top left:

  • Pretzels: better than crisps.
  • Humus and raw veg
  • Dried fruit, packed full of fibre and natural sugar, and peanuts. It used to be recommended you didn’t eat nuts during pregnancy. This is not the case at the moment. I choose to eat them. It’s up to you.
  • Fresh fruit, packed with water and natural sugars these can help you stay rehydrated
  • No this isn’t a White Russian, it’s a banana and almond smoothie (recipe coming soon). Smoothies contain fruit,  protein and calcium, depending on the ingredients and they are great for keeping you hydrated.

Don’t forget to let me know what healthy , or not so healthy snacks you can’t/couldn’t resist during your pregnancy.


 

 

2 thoughts on “Snack Attack!

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

