Bean’s First Baby-Grows

The Voice says, I now have something called clothes. They are going to keep me warm when I arrive. I’m a bit worried as my space is already very, very, warm. I don’t want to be any warmer. I’m not sure I’m going to like clothes, so the Voice is going to tell us all about them.


I have resisted buying Bean any clothes for several reasons:

  1. We don’t know if Bean’s a boy or a girl
  2. We’ll probably get lots of hand-me-downs
  3. After eight years experience in emergency healthcare, I know there’s a lot that can happen between now and D-day.
But let’s be positive!
I’ve never been able to resist a sale, so when I was in town with a friend and saw Mothercare had a sale on, well, it would have been rude not to go and coo over the baby-grows now wouldn’t it?
Here’s what I came out with.
Bean’s first baby-grows!
I think, given the maternal instinct that is currently coursing through my veins, I was quite restrained. The first picture is newborn, although the bibs, I think, are actually for slightly older babies and the booties are 0-3 months.
The second picture is all 0-3 months. It was all very good value, with the hats at only £1.20 in store, (that’s just over $2 for our friends across the pond), so if you’re near a Mothercare sale, get yourself down there or have a look online. There’s bargains abound!
If you’re wanting to start your baby’s wardrobe, by far the best list I’ve seen is in Neil Sinclair’s, ‘Commando Dad’*. Here it is:
  • 6 x babygros
  • 6 x sleepsuits
  • 6 x pairs of socks
  • 3 x pairs of scratch mits
  • 3 x cardigans
  • 3 x cotton hats
  • 2 x baby blankets
(p21 of Neil Sinclair’s, ‘Commando Dad’)
So, there’s still plenty more shopping fun to be had! I think I’ll wait and go with Bean’s Daddy as, although normally adverse to shopping, he has expressed in interest in this particular aspect, so it’s only fair I share the fun!


*For more books on Bean’s bookshelf click on the Library tab at the top of the blog. 
 
One thought on “Bean’s First Baby-Grows

I love to chat, let's have a conversation ...

